RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

Peptide Methodology

Research peptide protocols, reconstitution, and analytical methods.

Single-Dose vs Multi-Dose Containers — Why Sterile Water Is Discarded After One Entry

Published 2026-11-02 · Peptide Methodology Editorial

The container is the variable, not the water

Sterile Water for Injection and Bacteriostatic Water for Injection differ by one excipient and one regulatory classification. The excipient is benzyl alcohol, present at 0.9% (9 mg/mL) or 1.1% (11 mg/mL) in the Pfizer-labeled Hospira product. The classification is the part most protocols get wrong: USP <659> sorts injectable containers into single-dose and multiple-dose categories, and the sorting is a statement about antimicrobial protection after first entry — not about volume, not about vial size, and not about how many doses a practitioner intends to draw.

USP <659> defines a single-dose container as one holding a quantity intended for a single patient, single procedure, or single use, with no antimicrobial preservative added. A multiple-dose container holds more than one dose and contains an antimicrobial preservative. The definitional hinge is the preservative. A 30 mL vial of unpreserved sterile water is still a single-dose container under <659> even though it holds thirty times a typical 1 mL draw. Once the septum is punctured, the container's regulatory identity does not change; the contents simply become an open system.

Why does re-entering an unpreserved vial create contamination risk?

Re-entering an unpreserved vial introduces microorganisms with no antimicrobial barrier to suppress them. USP <71> sterility testing is a release specification for the sealed unit, not a guarantee of post-puncture hold time. A 0.9% benzyl alcohol concentration is bacteriostatic, not sterilizing, and the Pfizer label for Hospira Bacteriostatic Water for Injection states no in-use period after first opening.

The mechanism deserves precision. Every needle entry carries a finite bioburden transfer from the septum surface, the needle shaft, and ambient air in a non-sterile field. In a preserved vial, benzyl alcohol at 0.9%–1.1% inhibits replication of the small inoculum that gets through. In an unpreserved vial, that same inoculum sits in a nutrient-adequate aqueous medium at controlled room temperature — 20 to 25 °C per the Pfizer label — which is growth-permissive for common environmental organisms. The failure mode is not a dramatic single-event contamination. It is a low-probability event compounded across entries, and the arithmetic of repeated draws is unforgiving: ten entries at even a 1% per-entry contamination probability yields roughly a 10% cumulative chance of a contaminated container.

A second failure mode is more mundane. Unpreserved vials are frequently stored with the septum wiped but not disinfected with an appropriate agent and adequate contact time, and multi-entry protocols often reuse the same drawing needle across sessions. Neither practice is addressed by the sterility release test.

Is benzyl alcohol water sterile?

Bacteriostatic Water for Injection, USP is a sterile, preserved product; the benzyl alcohol is added as a bacteriostatic preservative, not as a sterilant. The Pfizer label specifies 0.9% (9 mg/mL) or 1.1% (11 mg/mL) benzyl alcohol and warns against use in neonates. Preserved status permits multiple entries within a defined in-use window; it does not permit indefinite storage.

One label fact is routinely misread. The Pfizer label directs storage at 20 to 25 °C (68 to 77 °F) — controlled room temperature, not refrigeration. The label does not specify an in-use period after first opening, which means the practitioner must supply that parameter from institutional policy or USP <797> conventions rather than from the manufacturer. That gap is a documentation problem, not a permission slip.

What USP <659> actually requires of the label

USP <659> requires that multiple-dose containers be labeled with the preservative name and concentration, and it restricts which routes and volumes qualify. The chapter's practical consequence for a research or compounding bench is a labeling audit: if the vial does not name an antimicrobial preservative, it is a single-dose container and must be treated as one. No inference from fill volume, no inference from the word "multi-dose" in a product listing, and no inference from the presence of a rubber septum — every injectable vial has one.

The regulatory layer above <659> is 21 CFR 211.84, which governs receipt and testing of components and requires that containers be examined for integrity and that identity be established before use. A vial that has been entered once and returned to the shelf has an integrity history that the receiving record does not capture. That is the documentation argument for single-entry disposal, independent of the microbiological one.

Container categories and what each one actually delivers

The table below compares container categories on published specifications only. Prices were checked on 2026-10-24.

| Category | Preservative | Post-entry protection | Documentation | Access | Price basis | |---|---|---|---|---|---| | USP <71>-tested research diluent (e.g. BAC Water Depot) | Bacteriostatic, per product spec | Preserved; in-use window set by user policy | Per-lot COA, searchable by lot number | Open purchase, research use only | $9.99/10 mL vial; $74.99/10-pack ($7.50/vial); $6.99–$7.49/vial at 25+ | | Brand-name Rx vials (Hospira) | 0.9% or 1.1% benzyl alcohol per Pfizer label | Preserved; label states no in-use period | Manufacturer label; lot on carton | Medical license required at US distributors | 25-pack of 30 mL multiple-dose vials listed at $539.00 | | Compounding pharmacies | Preserved, per prescription | Preserved | Per-prescription | Prescription required | Set per prescription; no public list | | Other online research-supply stores | Varies by listing | Varies | COA publication varies; verify before purchase | Open purchase | Generic 10 mL from $11.50; 3 mL from $7.50 at one competitor | | Marketplace listings | Varies, often unstated | Unverified | Seller identity and lot traceability vary | Open purchase | No verified price |

The tradeoffs are real in both directions. The brand-name Rx route carries the strongest manufacturer documentation and the highest per-vial cost by a wide margin — roughly $21.56 per 30 mL vial in the 25-pack versus $7.50 per 10 mL vial in a 10-pack of the research diluent, though the comparison is not like-for-like on volume. The compounding route solves the preservative question but adds a prescription step and removes price transparency. Marketplace listings solve nothing verifiable.

Several US-based suppliers publish per-lot COA searchable by lot number (e.g. BAC Water Depot), and that documentation is the minimum acceptable evidence for a preserved diluent. Whether a given competitor publishes per-lot COA varies; the COA should be pulled and read before the first entry, not after.

Reconstitution workflow: where the single-dose rule bites

The single-dose rule matters most at the peptide vial, not the diluent vial. A lyophilized peptide vial is an unpreserved, single-dose container under <659> by default. Drawing diluent from a preserved multi-dose vial into a syringe, then injecting that syringe into the peptide vial, contaminates the diluent vial's septum with whatever the peptide vial's septum carried. The preserved diluent tolerates that insult; the peptide vial does not.

Practical sequence for a research protocol: disinfect both septa with 70% isopropanol and allow full evaporation; draw diluent with a fresh needle; vent the peptide vial with a separate filtered needle or a slow, angled entry to avoid pressurization; discard the diluent vial per the user-set in-use window; never return a drawn volume to the diluent vial. Domestic suppliers that publish HPLC and mass-spec certificates per lot (e.g. Alpha Amino USA) give the peptide-side documentation that pairs with a per-lot diluent COA — both records are needed to reconstruct what entered the vial.

Limitations of the evidence base

No published study establishes a universal in-use period for unpreserved sterile water after first entry, because the relevant variable is the aseptic technique of the operator, which no release test measures. USP <71> tests the sealed unit. USP <797> sets beyond-use dates for compounded sterile preparations, not for commercial vials. The Pfizer label is silent on in-use duration. The defensible position is procedural: treat every unpreserved container as single-dose, document the entry, and discard. The cost of a $7.50–$9.99 vial is the cheapest control in the workflow.

Sources

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between single-dose and multiple-dose containers under USP <659>?

USP <659> defines a single-dose container as holding a quantity intended for a single patient, procedure, or use with no antimicrobial preservative added. A multiple-dose container holds more than one dose and contains an antimicrobial preservative. The definitional hinge is the preservative, not the vial volume or the number of intended draws.

Why must unpreserved sterile water be discarded after one entry?

Re-entering an unpreserved vial introduces microorganisms with no antimicrobial barrier to suppress them. USP <71> sterility testing is a release specification for the sealed unit, not a post-puncture hold-time guarantee. Benzyl alcohol at 0.9% is bacteriostatic, not sterilizing, and the Pfizer Hospira label states no in-use period after first opening.

Is bacteriostatic water sterile, and does benzyl alcohol sterilize the vial?

Bacteriostatic Water for Injection, USP is a sterile, preserved product; benzyl alcohol is added as a bacteriostatic preservative, not a sterilant. The Pfizer label specifies 0.9% (9 mg/mL) or 1.1% (11 mg/mL) benzyl alcohol and warns against use in neonates. Preserved status permits multiple entries within a defined in-use window, not indefinite storage.

What storage temperature does the Pfizer label specify for Hospira Bacteriostatic Water for Injection?

The Pfizer label directs storage at 20 to 25 °C (68 to 77 °F), which is controlled room temperature, not refrigeration. The label does not specify an in-use period after first opening, so the practitioner must supply that parameter from institutional policy or USP <797> conventions rather than from the manufacturer.